BARRY FUNNY

barry

Dave Barry is a very funny guy. I’ve been told I’m funny, too, but nobody has ever said I’m as funny as Dave Barry. That’s because I’m not as funny as Dave Barry. Dave Barry is LOL funny.

I’m reading his new collection , LIVE RIGHT AND FIND HAPPINESS (ALTHOUGH BEER IS MUCH FASTER)  – published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons.  While reading Barry’s introduction, I laughed out loud seven times. (Yes, I kept count.) Now that’s what I call a good start. But it gets better.  For example,  there’s his  letter to his 16-year old daughter who is about to get her driver’s license. It’s a full-tilt guffaw-for-all. There’s alos a wonderful witty piece on the “Greatest Generation.”  I put that in quotes because I’m not convinced it was the greatest, although in the hands of this humorist it seems like  the “Funniest.”

I don’t want to belabor the point, but this is a funny book. I’m not crazy about the title…it’s not as amusing as his earlier collection,   YOU CAN DATE BOYS WHEN YOU’RE FORTY. But then, so what? Nobody buys a book for it’s title. If they did, my book NAKED LUNCH AT TIFFANY’S would be #1 on the bestseller list. OK, that plug was uncalled for, so shoot me.

Bottom line, if you’re in the mood for laughs…you can’t go wrong here.

