Summer Reading (Early Edition)

I know it’s still spring, but some titles have been piling up and it’s time to get a jump-start on my seasonal reading.
Here are a few I’ll take under the umbrella.

 

watergate 

And you thought Richard Nixon was dead.

Well, I’ve read more nonfiction books on Watergate than any normal person should. (Hmm) That includes several comic novels and parodies. But this looks like the first work of fiction that’s not a cartoon. Its cast of characters (countless!) are portrayed as  living/breathing people…as they are (or once were). Early reports are that Thomas Mallon has pulled off something new.

 

iservedtheking_300_463vita

 

in-house

 

Zoom Street’s managing editor, Jim McMenamin, has long been a fan of Czech writer  Bohumil Hrabal, and he’s made it clear I’ve been missing something great. Well I’ve started reading one novel and realize he’s right. So I have several books on tap for those muggy nights ahead.

beck2

 

beck3

 

beck4

 

beck5

 

beck6

To cool down I’ll be heading to Sweden for a string of police procedurals, i.e., a batch of Martin Beck mysteries  by the husband-wife team of Maj Sjöwall & Per Wahlöö.
I’ve read (and reviewed) The Laughing Policeman, but enjoyed it so much I’ll probably read it again. The plot of Murder At the Savoy  takes place during a hot Swedish summer (unlike the dismal cold which figures prominently in the series)…so I’ll probably save it for the winter.

 

hitlerland

Have to have on work of historical nonfiction and Andrew Nagorski’s Hitlerland. Question is, can the author match Erik Larson’s In the Garden of Beasts which we chose as the best nonfiction book of 2011. (BTW, the paperback edition is due out May 1st.)
Both books cover the same terrain—Hitler’s rise to power as seen through the eyes of Americans in Germany—although it looks like Nagorski is casting a wider net.

 

And last but not least….

 

Reaktion 9781861898524 new Artists Postcards

 

What could be more fitting for summer vacation than a compendium of postcards created by artists.

 

More soon, stay tuned.

