Shelf Noir

photo by Derek Pell

New novels are dropping by every day. Guess you could say UPS always rings twice.  Yesterday a  batch arrived unannounced from Minotaur, so it looks like I need another  bookcase. For the time being it’s 4 on the floor.

 

I couldn’t help peeking at Voyeur and discovered it was signed by the author. I read the first chapter and it’s killer, so I’ve moved it to the top of the pile.

 

Voyeur

A tip of the fedora to Hector  DeJean at St. Martin’s Press for keeping me up to speed on the Minotaur imprint.  Watch for future reviews on Zoom Street.

***

Other publishers have muscled their way onto my reading list, too… like Overlook Press. I usually can count on them for offbeat titles other houses shy away from.

It was a pleasant surprise to receive their 4th Edition of this classic reference…

noir_encyclopedia

Film Noir: The Encyclopedia edited by Alain Dilver, Elizabeth Ward, James Ursini, Robert Porfirio, & Carl Macek

This one’s for serious fans only—an encyclopedia that’s as authoritative as it gets. In addition to complete A-Z entries on the classics and sub-species of the genre, it includes a meaty section on “Neo-Noir,” with the lowdown on films like Chinatown, Blade Runner, and Blood Simple.

There are also hundreds of film stills so I can bask  in the murky shadows while boning up on style and substance.

A hefty, hard-boiled tome!

