Travel Light and Flash the USA

Zoom Street Photo

I try, I try. And I’ll be trying again in April when I head back to northern California. This will be my 14th cross-country drive and I’m determined to strobe my way cross the USA. I’ll light motels with an eye for Noir, illuminate shady landmarks and seedy one-way shortcuts. I’ll produce a pictorial whodunit with how-to clues and some video interludes.

B.Y.O.P. (Bring Your Own Pulp)

I’ll be packing two Nikon bodies, four lenses, five or six speedlights (particulars to come), wireless triggers, Nasty Clamps with frios attached, an orbis ring flash, LumiQuest SoftBox LTp, Rogue FlashBenders,  etc.

It sounds like I’ll be overloaded again, but this kit is pretty compact. Unpacked, however, you’d never know it.

“You’re bringing all that??” says my wife.

“Yep. We’ll have to get rid of one of the dogs,” I tell her,” joking natch, because you don’t need a handgun when you’re packin’ a German Shepherd.

The photo at the top of this post shows a Nikon SB-900 that I Nasty clamped to a dinner bell. A frio provides a locking shoe mount for the strobe so it can be attached to the clamp.

Below, the combo rides a plank on the deck.

frio3

You can see how a bunch of  friofied clamps are indispensible when going beyond a tripod or light stand, getting “light in dark corners.”

As for the drive itself, a Magellan RoadMate 9055 will make the road trip possible. Hell, without GPS I wouldn’t step out my door, let alone gas it for 3,000 miles.

roadmate2

I’ll post a complete gear shot (before and after) next month and explain why each item is important to me.

More soon.

