You’re a Good Man Charlie Chan

apple

It was about 80-degrees last night around 9PM. Too hot to stay indoors, so I drove to the mall in Terra Linda. Outside a pair of restaurants is a public patio with comfortable, overstuffed armchairs. (The chairs were a thoughtful replacement for several granite benches.)  So there I sat, sipping espresso and reading by lantern light Yunte Huang’s Charlie Chan: The Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and His Rendezvous with American History. It’s a work of inspired cultural history and the perfect antidote for a rare heat wave  in the Bay Area. Nothing beats a free cafe.

chan

I had my trusty old D90 (which apparently will be replaced soon by the Nikon D7000—how do they come up with these model numbers?), so I grabbed a few shots of the surrounding neon. (I was too lazy to get out of the chair and compose the shots.)   Nearly noise-free with the  ISO cranked up to 1250. I still think the D90 is worth consideration if you want a lot of power at a low price.

bjs

Finally drove  home, crawled into bed and stared out at the moonlight… slept like a baby despite the caffeine.

