Where’s My Copy?

copied

I want this cool new tome from MoMA (cover modified by yours truly) which echoes Baudrillard’s theory of Simulations. Of course the nude on the cover doesn’t hurt either, but it’s the title that grabs me: The Original Copy.

Actually this is a book about sculpture, or rather the photography of sculpture, from 1839 to the present and coincides with an exhibition running at the Modern through September 1. It includes the work of Eugène Atget, Hans Bellmer, Herbert Bayer, Constantin Brancusi, Brassaï Claude Cahun, Marcel Duchamp, Fischli & Weiss, Robert Frank, Lee Friedlander, Cyprien Gaillard, Robert Gober, David Goldblatt, Rachel Harrison, Hannah Höch, André Kertész, Man Ray, Bruce Nauman, Charles Nègre, Gillian Wearing, Hannah Wilke, and Iwao Yamawaki, among others.

With a lineup like that I think I’ll need two copies.

orig_copy orig_copy

The Original Copy: Photography of Sculpture, 1839 to Today is edited by Roxana Marcoci. Text by Roxana Marcoci, Geoffrey Batchen, Tobia Bezzola.

Nothing like the precession of simulacra to make my day.

Click to order the book on Amazon

