Gearing Up

As promised in a previous post, here’s a shot of  the essential gear I’ll be taking on a cross-country drive in August. I’ve made the coast-to-coast journey a dozen times, so I’ve had  plenty of opportunities to master the art of packing. Although I’ve never had anything stolen on these adventures, I never let my cameras or laptop out of my sight. It’s a hassle lugging  bags when I just want to grab a bite to eat, but it sure beats winding up empty-handed back at the motel. I also stick to a rigid backup routine so if I lose something it ain’t my photos. (That’s the tip.)

Here’s a list of the gear shown above: (click on the photo for a larger view)

A) Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro IF ASP HSM
B) Matrix 2 headlamp
C) Honl 1/4″ Speed Grid
D) Rogue FlashBender
E) Sigma 100-300mm f/4 EX DG  HSM IF APO
F) Zacuto Target Shooter (stabilizer for DSLR video)
G) Vanguard PH-242 Window Mount
H)  Nissin Di866 Digital Flash
I)  Nikon D300s w/ AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor
 18-200mm 3.5-5.6G ED lens / MB-D10 battery pack
J) 2x tele converter
K) FLO  TV (with retractable earphones from Magellan’s)
L)  Pixel Pocket Rocket (memory card holder)
M)  Picture Porter 35 (backup)
N) Zoom H4n HandyRecorder

Not shown:
Nikon SB-900 Speedlight; Nikon D90 w/ MB-D10 battery pack; 12-24mm f/4.5-5.6 lens; Acer notebook; monopod;  tripod; ball head; light stands; Lastolite TriGrip; Nasty Clamps; Lexar card reader; Flip camcorder; assorted jazz CDs;  Curb Your Enthusiasm: The Complete Seventh Season (DVD); and several books, including Murder City: Ciudad Juarez and the Global Economy’s New Killing Fields by Charles Bowden.

I’ll pack up most of this stuff in a couple of Domke camera bags.

Tonight I’m off to the” City by the Bay” to celebrate my 14th wedding anniversary—yikes!

***************************

ADDEN-DUMB

After posting this, a friend chided me for not including everything.

“I know you’re taking more than that,” he said. “No lens cloth and blower? No chargers?”

Okay-okay, so I didn’t mention it all. I figured some things were obvious, like chargers for the two Nikons, lens caps, and shades. So maybe I should have mentioned the tape measure and clothes pins; the clamp; Rip Ties; Battery Checker; LED flashlight; Hammer portable storage drive; radiopoppers;  Hoodman right angle viewfinder; travel wipes; and my pith helmet.

I’m not taking the blowgun this time.

So there you have it. And if I think of anything else I promise I’ll keep it to myself. 

