Got Clouds? Find Faces!

I’ve been grousing about the bad weather a lot lately, but then I remembered how boring the blue skies in San Diego became. As a photographer, I longed for something beyond an empty canvas. Clouds give definition and character to the sky, whether dreamy wisps or dramatic bursts.

The clouds in the photo below resemble a detail from a classical painting. As I studied the image in Lightroom I discovered several faces and creatures looming within. A reminder of how much we miss in life as we go about our daily routines, preoccupied, rushing, rarely looking up at the sky. Hardly seeing at all.

The beauty of working with a camera is that it forces you to stop, look…and really see.

This, of course, comes naturally to children and artists. They always have time to stop and stare and let their imaginations run wild.

So I’m asking you to take a break, click on the photo to enlarge it, and consider the clouds for a moment… see how many faces you can find.