We all live in a yellow nectarine…

nectar

We were shooting a video in Whole Foods in San Diego a few weeks ago. This  mouth-watering still was plucked from HD footage shot with my Nikon D90. Wendell Sweda was shooting from a different angle with his Sony HVRZ1U

While I was panning this sweet sea of nectarines, there was a barely perceptible flicker that was driving me crazy. Was I panning too fast? No. The camera was mounted on a rock-steady tripod with a fluid head. We were using a bounce card and the lighting was perfect. My first reaction, of course, was to blame the camera. But then I realized that the DP (and those are also my initials) had forgotten to lock in the AE. Son of a peach!

The Nikon’s Auto Exposure is so sensitive that in Movie Mode it constantly adjusts for the slightest variation in light which causes the flicker. I wish I’d included this tip in the chapter on DV in Shoot To Thrill, but I discovered it too late. It’s in Peter iNova’s peachy eBook, HDSLR Nikon D90 published by GMBools.com. I haven’t seen this in any of the printed books on the D90, either, only the standard warnings about panning and the dreaded jello effect.

Just realized I never got to taste the nectarine Sweda split open with my Buck knife It disappeared from the set.

Sweda, you hog!

