Paul M. Jones – Featured Photographer

pj_news

The February issue of Zoom Street features the work of Paul Jones and his extraordinary pinhole photography. His dream-like images transport the viewer to places both familiar and strange.

Here’s Paul’s bio:

“My father’s background as an artist and art director had an obvious influence on my decision and desire to pursue the visual arts, ultimately concentrating on photography as my profession and avocation.

I was drawn to photography mostly because the cameras and the process fascinated me. My father had a couple of cameras that I was allowed to use and experiment with, pretty much as I wished. When I was 12, I purchased a darkroom kit in order to teach myself to develop film and make prints. In addition to being self taught, I also attended the Silvermine College of Art in New Canaan, CT and the Rhode Island School of Design.

On a whim, I brought a recently purchased Zero Image 2000 pinhole camera as my only camera on a trip to Paris in the Spring of 2003. Since then, all of my personal work has been done with pinhole cameras. Starting as a novelty, it has since become my passion. While I do build and use my own 4×5 and 8×10 cameras, I use the Zero Image camera most frequently. Since pinhole cameras, in general, have no viewfinder, a good deal of image making is left up to experience and intuition. I find this way of working liberating and more spontaneous than shooting with traditional cameras. Exposures are frequently several seconds if not minutes, depth of field is infinite, the images are soft and the tonal range tends to compact. I find these methods and the quality of image suit my intent beautifully.

I call the overall body of pinhole work I’m accumulating “Casual Observations Through a Pinhole”. It seems to be dividing itself into vague categories but still there seems to be a common thread, as loose as it may be.

My method of work is simple: I have a camera with me whenever practical. When something grabs my attention I make the image. I process the film traditionally. For printing I scan the negatives on a Nikon CoolScan 9000 and make “traditional” adjustments in Photoshop. I then make prints using an Epson printer equipped with K6 piezography CIS inks on Hahnemuhle Photo Rag paper.

More of my pinhole work can be viewed at: www.PinholePip.com.”

***

CLICK HERE and check out his Zoom Street Gallery.

CLICK HERE to visit Paul’s web site.

