Blow Out

In 1966 my father, a photographer, went to see Antonioni’s Blowup. I remember him telling me about all the technical inaccuracies in the movie. I don’t recall the specific criticisms, but they were in the manner of “… the 35mm lens David Hemmings used couldn’t have produced those enlargements…”, etc. My father also found fault with much of the film’s lighting. Obviously the director should have hired him as the technical adviser.

I wasn’t interested in photography back then. The movie was cool and technicalities missed the point.

Surfing the Web today I came upon this publicity still from Rear Window and was struck by how James Stewart is holding the camera.

All wrong, Jimmy, you’ll never get the shot. 

But then what does that prove?

Like father, like son, I guess.

