Good omen, amen

Last night  at 8:19 PM PST I strolled into Bucks and was told a fresh pot was brewing…could I wait 4 minutes? No problem. 4 minutes later I was handed a cupojav on the house. I didn’t know about their policy of free coffee if the pot ain’t ready when you are.

Anyhow, I took this as a sign of  good things ahead.  It wasn’t that long ago… on the drive to California… when Starbucks proved itself a bad omen…. like after the car’s A/C cut off in Oklahoma City (106-degrees). After a ten-hour stretch behind the wheel and with only 1 cup of rancid motel coffee in my bloodstream, I spied a sign for a Drive-Thru Starbucks.

At last!

Pulled up to the window and a kid stuck his head out and said “We’re out of coffee…”

What??? Starbucks out of coffeee???

Turns out a bus full of Baptists had pulled in before me and cleaned the place out.

Sounded like bad luck to me.

And speaking of Starbucks, don’t forget this blog’s very first post on July 4, 2008…. LINK

Leave a Reply

